French English
Français English

Habitat For Humanity Côte d'Ivoire
Abidjan | Cocody 2 Plateaux Les Vallons | (+225) 22 41 97 75
Sunday, 26 May 2019

THE PROGRAM OF VULNERABLE GROUPS


Initiated in 2002, the Program for Vulnerable Groups aims to improve the living conditions of vulnerable social class by assisting and supporting them. This program has two major projects that are:
1. HOPE Project (Housing Orphans and Protected Environment),
2. The disabled project.

 

HOPE PROJECT

The HOPE Project is a project of care and support to orphans and vulnerable children (OVCs) caused by HIV / AIDS. Funded by PEPFAR, the project will conduct basic care activities and access to social housing to OVC and their families in the areas of NZI and IFFOU. These are programs center around food and nutrition support, health, education and development training, psychosocial, sustainable economic strengthening, shelter, care and protection. The HOPE project intervention areas are the departments of Daoukro, M'Bahiakro, Dimbokro and Bongouanou.

The HOPE Project helps to:
1. Strengthen the role of families, communities and social partners as the primary caregivers to OVC,
2. Strengthen care and support to OVC and their families in all intervention sites according to national standards,
3. Strongly involve social partners in the implementation of activities (reference and track cases, exchange meetings with parents of OVC with community centers, monthly meetings with NGOs and consultants, regular supervision of counselors, validation of data ...),
4. . Support the capacity of communities to create protective environments and care,
5. Strengthen the capacity of services / social systems to protect the vulnerable (field trip, acquiring tools, experience sharing ...),
6. Allocate resources to children according to the need arising in the context of HIV /AIDS (Sex,age).

PROJECT FOR DISABLED

In Cote D’ivoire, according to the Ministry of State, the Ministry of Labor, Solidarity and Social Affairs, there is between 1.500.000 and 2.000.000 people with disabilities. With the proliferation of many diseases related to the proximity of populations with rivers, the central region is the most affected. The area is affected by diseases such as poliomyelitis, cataract, glaucoma, macular degeneration, corneal opacity, diabetic retinopathy, onchocerciasis, trachoma and childhood blindness.

People with disabilities are marginalized, left out against, live in inhumane conditions and sometimes rejected by their families.

Since 2003, the project to improve the living environment of disabled people with the financial support of the Lions Club Hornbill helped build and rehabilitate a little less than two hundred (200) social housing for the disabled in the need. This project contributes significantly to the fight against poverty and restores the dignity of the disabled. The project intervention areas are endemic communities in Central, North and Eastern part of the country. The project beneficiaries are primarily:
1. Blind,
2. Visually impaired,
3. Physical disabilities of the upper and / or lower limb,
4. Lepers,
5. Patients with Buruli ulcer.
Financial partners of the project are the Lions Club Abidjan Hornbill and the International Foundation Lions Club.

Français Anglais
Français English

Habitat For Humanity Côte d'Ivoire
Abidjan | Cocody 2 Plateaux Les Vallons | (+225) 22 41 97 75
Mardi, 16 Octobre 2018

LE PROGRAMME DES GROUPES VULNERABLES


Initié en 2002, le Programme des Groupes Vulnérables a pour but d’améliorer durablement les conditions de vie des couches vulnérables par l’assistance au logement et par la prise en charge des personnes défavorisées. Ce programme comporte deux projets majeurs que sont:
1. Le projet HOPE (Housing Orphans and Protected Environment),
2. Le projet des handicapés.

 

LE PROJET HOPE

Le projet HOPE est un projet de soin et soutiens aux orphelins et enfants vulnérables (OEV) du fait du VIH/SIDA. Financé par le PEPFAR, le projet permet de conduire des activités de soins de base et d’accès aux logements sociaux aux OEV et leurs familles dans les régions du NZI et du IFFOU. Ce sont des prises en charge alimentaire et nutritionnelle, de santé, d’éducation et de mise en apprentissage, psychosocial, de renforcement économique durable, d’abris, de soins et de protection. Les zones d’intervention du projet HOPE sont les départements de Daoukro, M’Bahiakro, Dimbokro et Bongouanou.

Le projet HOPE permet de :
1. Renforcer la place des familles, des communautés et des partenaires sociaux comme premiers prestataires de soins pour les OEV,
2. Renforcer les soins et soutien aux OEV et à leurs familles sur tous les sites d’intervention selon les standards nationaux,
3. Impliquer fortement les partenaires sociaux dans la mise en œuvre des activités (référence et le suivi des cas, réunions d’échange avec les parents d’OEV avec les centres sociaux, réunions mensuelles avec les ONG et les conseillères, encadrement régulier des conseillers, validation des données…),
4. Soutenir les capacités des communautés pour la création d’environnements de protection et de soins,
5. Renforcer les capacités des services/systèmes sociaux pour protéger les plus vulnérables (visite de terrain, acquisition d’outils, partage d’expérience…),
6. Allouer des ressources aux enfants selon le besoin dans le contexte VIH/sida (sexe, âge…).

LE PROJET DES HANDICAPES

En Côte d'Ivoire, selon le Ministère d’Etat, Ministère de l’Emploi, de la Solidarité et des Affaires Sociales, on estime entre 1.500.000 et 2.000.000, le nombre de personnes handicapées. Avec la prolifération de nombreuses maladies liées à la proximité des populations avec les cours d’eaux, la région du centre est la plus touchée. La zone est affectée par des pathologies telles que la poliomyélite, la cataracte, le glaucome, la dégénérescence maculaire, l’opacité de la cornée, la rétinopathie diabétique, l’onchocercose, le trachome et la cécité de l’enfant. Les personnes handicapées sont marginalisées, laissées pour contre, vivent dans

des conditions inhumaines et quelques fois rejetées par leurs famille.

Depuis l’année 2003, le projet d’amélioration du cadre de vie des personnes handicapées avec le soutien financier du Lions Club Calao a permis de construire et de réhabiliter un peu moins de deux cents (200) logements sociaux au profit des handicapés dans le besoin. Ce projet contribue largement à lutter contre la pauvreté et à restaurer la dignité des personnes handicapées. Les zones d’intervention du projet sont les localités endémiques du Centre, du Nord et de l’Est. Les bénéficiaires du projet sont essentiellement:
1. Des aveugles,
2. Des malvoyants,
3. Des handicapés physiques des membres supérieurs et/ou inférieurs,
4. Des lépreux,
5. Des malades atteints de l’ulcère de buruli.
Les partenaires financiers du projet sont le Lions Club Abidjan Calao et la Fondation Internationale Lions Club.